First Post

So in a few short days, I will be headed to the north of France, to live in a town called Arras for 3.5 months. Why am I doing this?

I have been offered a chance to be a Student Tour Guide, though a program administered by the Veterans Affairs Dept. For over two years, I have wanted to participate in this program but as you can imagine, it is quite competitive. They only send 45 students a year, 15 per semester and thousands apply. One of the requirements of this program was museum experience and so I was led to the Manitoba Museum, where I have made great friends and learned many facts about fossils, Ordovician Era, and coprolites. (hint**they are trace fossils)

I am leaving behind my husband, my king size bed, and my library to tromp through the trenches of WW1, to explain to visitors about the sacrifices made by those who fought and died there.

More to follow.

One thought on “First Post

Leave a comment