The Parties Are All Done

About a year ago, I attended a workshop with my friend Andrea. It was all about mapping intentions and bridging challenges. On my map – two of my challenges were to build community and have adventures. Recently, I realized that since setting those intentions free into the universe, I have travelled to the Middle East and now am headed to France, to live for four months. I also have made so many good friends that I feel truly blessed by. This was so clear this weekend when I had two going away parties.

One downtown at a pub – where I drank many shots and glasses of cider, while consuming a “Big Kahuna Burger” which had jalapenos, bacon, cheese, mushrooms, and all the other usual burger things.

Then an amazing potluck at my house – with so many dishes, laughs, desserts, good times, Wii, and some hilarious in hindsight parking challenges. (I think that nine vehicles may be a record for my driveway.)

I was overwhelmed by the outpouring of good wishes and the sense of community that I felt. When I moved to Winnipeg from Brandon, I left behind a lifetime of friendships and for the first time in six years, I felt that feeling again.

I want to thank everyone that came.

3 thoughts on “The Parties Are All Done

  1. Happy trails to you, until we meet again! Today is the big day, Reta! Wishing you more wonderful adventures and meaningful relationships during your stint in France. We’ll be thinking of you at MSC!

Leave a comment